How did sirius black escape from azkaban?

Sirius, an unregistered Animagus, escaped Azkaban prison by transforming into his dog form, slipping past the Dementors that were unable to detect his canine guise.

---

Sirius Black escaped Azkaban because he was an Animagus since dementors can’t sense him and effect his emotions while in dog form so he was able to escape.