How many years does it take for an avocado to grow?

Whether you start from seed or a nursery-grown tree, one essential for success is patience. Plant a tree, and you'll wait three to four years for fruit. Start with a seed, you may wait 13 years or more. Even so, there's something special about homegrown avocados that make them worth the wait.