Where does the word samolian come from?

It is referring to some on from Somalia.

---

The origin of the word "simoleon," spelled S-I-M-O-L-E-O-N, as slang for a US dollar, is unknown. The most common theory is that it's somehow a mutation of the name "Napoleon," probably as a portmanteau with some other word, such as "simon," a slang term for sixpence.