Why was boston ohio evacuated in nineteen seventy four?

Helltown is the nickname given to a town that used to be known as Boston, Ohio. Boston was founded in 1806 and apparently thrived until 1976 when the government bought out most of the town, and the townspeople were evicted from their homes. There were plans for it to be turned into a national park