What's the average speed of a human in miles per hour?

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, an average human walking speed is between 2.5 and 4 miles per hour. The record speed for a human running is attributed to Jamaican athlete Usain Bolt at the 2009 IAAF World Championships, where he was clocked at 27.79 miles per hour.