How rich is scrooge?

Ebenezer Scrooge is “a good man of business,” like his dead partner, Jacob Marley, and there is no doubt about his status in the world of commerce. Scrooge the wealthy remains a mysterious figure, ultimately irrelevant to the story, which is about freeing the soul, not loosening the purse-strings.