Are purple and green complimentary colors?

Purple & green are not complimentary colors. Purple's comp color is yellow while green's is red. Comp colors are opposite on the standard color wheel, which was invented by Sir Isaac Newton while studying white light in prisms. He believed the rainbow of colors shared a harmonious relationship.