Can crisco go bad?

Like other oil-based items, shortening has a long shelf life, as stated by StillTasty. It comes with a Best Used By date or Best By date instead of an expiration date or Use By date. ... Unopened Crisco shortening can stay up to two years, whereas an opened can will last for one year.