Why do they throw beads at mardi gras?

Bead throwing at Mardi Gras dates back to the 1880s. Legend says that a man who was dressed up as Santa Claus tossed strands of glass beads into the crowds. The beads were a hit and the practice became tradition. Aluminum and plastic beads replaced the glass beads in the 1970s.