Why are piggy banks called piggy banks?

During The Middle Ages, imetal was expensive and seldom used for household wares. Instead, dishes and pots were made of an economical clay called "PYGG". Whenever people could save an extra coin, they dropped it into one of their clay jars.They called this their pygg bank or their piggy bank.