Why is neapolitan ice cream called neapolitan ice cream?

The word Neapolitan means "from Naples, Italy." Neapolitan ice cream got its name when Italian immigrants from Naples brought the recipe to the United States in the late1800s.

---

Because it is differnt flavors in one carton. A term used back in the 50's and 60's....very neapolitan.