When is mating season for squirrels?

Most species have two litters yearly, but some only mate once. The first mating season begins in late Winter, usually around the end of February, lasting until May. The second mating runs from the end of Spring until late Summer. Some species only mate once yearly. Baby squirrels are called kittens.