When is mating season for squirrels?

Squirrel birthing and mating season occur twice a year. Squirrel mating season happens once between December and February, then again in late June through August. With the gestation period lasting 38 to 46 days, female squirrels will give birth in early spring or late summer

---

Most species have two litters yearly, but some only mate once. The first mating season begins in late Winter, usually around the end of February, lasting until May. The second mating runs from the end of Spring until late Summer. Some species only mate once yearly. Baby squirrels are called kittens.