Does ricotta cheese have to be cooked?

No, ricotta cheese doesn't have to be cooked to be enjoyed. It can be eaten topped with fruit or made into a savory spread, for example. Its name means recooked, as it comes from whey derived from cheese production which is fermented then reheated to become the small ricotta curds.