Who is the first president of nigeria?

Nnamdi Azikiwe became governor-general on 16th November, 1960, with Abubakar Tafawa Balewa as prime minister. When Nigeria became a republic in 1963, he was its first president. In both posts, Azikiwe's role was largely ceremonial.