What's a hot mass?

Did you mean a hot mess?

---

The term hot mess originally referred to a mess that was literally hot—mess in this case being related to the kind served in a mess hall. Before it was anything else, mess was a word for a quantity of food. Today, it means something in a state of extreme disorder or disarray.