What does baking soda do in a recipe?

Baking Soda, also known as sodium bicarbonate, helps baked goods rise. Baking soda reacts with acids in a recipe, neutralizing them and creating carbon dioxide. The bubbles from the carbon dioxide cause the batter or dough to rise. Without it, baked goods would be dense and flat.