What is the longest running television series in history?

The Simpsons! The animated series has been on the air for over 30 years and is currently in its 30th season. The Simpsons made its debut on December 17, 1989, and is the longest-running animated series in history. It’s also the longest-running scripted television show of all time.

---

The Simpsons made its debut on December 17, 1989, and has become the longest-running primetime scripted show in the U.S., as well as the longest-running animated series in history. It's also the longest-running scripted television show of all time.