What's the history of haiti?

The recorded written history of Haiti began on 5 December 1492 when Christopher Columbus happened upon a large island in the region of the western Atlantic Ocean that later came to be known as the Caribbean. From 1697 on, the western part of the island was French and the eastern part was Spanish.