Is salt water bad for plants?

Yes, When saltwater enters the soil, the plant tries to absorb it throughout its roots like normal water. However, saltwater does not allow for osmosis through the plant tissues. It is so dense that the salt solution actually draws water out of the plant, dehydrating and eventually killing it.