How long does anesthesia stay in your body?

Most medications utilized for anesthesia are cleared from the body quite rapidly, some in a matter of hours or less. Traces of some medications might be found for up to a week, but patient's rarely experience effects of anesthesia beyond about 24 hours.

---

Your body will take up to a week to completely eliminate the medicines from your system but most people will not notice much effect after about 24 hours.