Who is spike the dragon?

Spike is a young purple and green male dragon from the series My Little Pony Friendship is Magic. He is Twilight Sparkle's faithful and number one assistant and one of the main characters on MLP FiM. Spike is always a helpful dragon in Ponyville and has a crush on a female pony fashionista, Rarity.