What is the difference between granny and grandma?

Granny and grandma are both nicknames for grandmother. While there are some regional preferences, nicknames for grandparents are often chosen within families and can include words from the family’s ethnicity, such as Nonna, Bubbie, or Oma, or even words made up by the grandchildren, like Gheema