How long does it take sixteen ounces of water to boil?

The length of time needed to boil water varies depending on elevation. At sea level, water boils at 100 degrees Celsius or 212 degrees Fahrenheit. At higher altitudes the temperature of the boiling point is lower.

---

How long it takes to achieve boiling is subject to many variables such as the temperature of your heating vessel, ambient temperature, et cetera. Water at sea level boils at 212 degrees fahrenheit; at 5,000 feet above sea level, it's 203 degrees. Up at 10,000 feet, it's 194 degrees.