Where did mary had a little lamb king from?

The nursery rhyme, which was was first published in 1830, is based on an actual incident involving Mary Elizabeth Sawyer, a woman born in 1806 on a farm in Sterling Massachusetts. The line “its fleece was white as snow;” Stirling is the birth-place of Mary Sawyer and the little lamb.