What's the plot of top gun maverick?

Set 30 years after the original movie, Top Gun: Maverick follows Maverick's return to the U.S. Navy Top Gun program as an Instructor. He must confront his past as he trains a group of younger pilots, among them the son of his deceased best friend, Goose.