How fast can a human kid run?

A 12-year-old boy who can complete a 1-mile run in eight minutes and 40 seconds sits at about the 50th percentile in comparison to other boys his age. Any time faster than 8:40 would be considered a good time, since it puts the boy in the top half of his age class