What made dinosaurs go extinct?

It is generally accepted that the cataclysmic event of a meteor striking the planet caused the destruction of all life that weighed over 25 kg. The meteor impacted the ground, tossing up so much soil that it blocked the sun. The plants died; then the herbivores starved; then did the carnivores.