When was the babylonian captivity?

The Chaldean king Nebuchadnezzar conquered Jerusalem in Judah in 597 BC. He exiled some Jews to Babylon then or soon thereafter. They remained in the vicinity of Babylon until the Chaldeans were conquered by Cyrus of Persia in 539. Cyrus allowed the Jews to return to Judah.