What was the credit mobile scandal?

The Crédit Mobilier scandal of 1872-1873 damaged the careers of several Gilded Age politicians. Major stockholders in the Union Pacific Railroad formed a company, and gave it contracts to build the railroad. They sold or gave shares in this construction to influential congressmen.