What are the names of the seven seas?

In Greek literature (which is where the phrase entered Western literature), the Seven Seas were the Aegean, Adriatic, Mediterranean, Black, Red, and Caspian seas, with the Persian Gulf thrown in as a "sea."

---

Agean Sea, South Sea, China Sea, Mediterranean Sea, Caribbean Sea, Caspian Sea, and the Red Sea.

---

Original References to the Seven Seas meant the Adriatic Sea; the Mediterranean Sea (including the Aegean Sea); the Black Sea; the Caspian Sea; the Persian Gulf; the Arabian Sea (which is part of the Indian Ocean); and the Red Sea, including the Dead Sea and the Sea of Galilee.