When was polio discovered?

1894, first outbreak of polio in epidemic form in the U.S. occurs in Vermont, with 132 cases. 1908, Karl Landsteiner and Erwin Popper identify a virus as the cause of polio by transmitting the disease to a monkey. 1916, large epidemic of polio within the United States.

---

It was discovered in 1894