Why is a pool table called a pool table?

The official name is Billiards, of French origin. In the US, Billiard tables were first installed in houses where bets or pools on horses were made, giving gamblers something to do between races. Gradually, the houses referred to these rooms as "Pool Rooms" and subsequently Billiards became "Pool".