Why did west virginia split from virginia?

There were numerous political differences in the two regions during the Civil War. They split apart in 1863 and never reconciled again.

---

West Virginia succeeded from Virginia in 1863 due to tax funding and cultural differences. Majority of tax dollars were funding infrastructure in the east and little west of the state. Due to the mountain terrain culturally it developed differently due to isolation and it’s mining employment.