What does the summer mean?

Formally, (for the northern hemisphere) it is the time of the summer solstice (around June 21) until around September 21 (December 21 to March 21 for Southern Hemisphere). Informally, it encompasses the warmest part of the year that fits other parameters (like the warm months school is out)