How long do you soak potatoes before cooking?

Give them a cold water bath: Once your potatoes are chopped, toss them into a large bowl. Then cover the potatoes completely with cold water and let them soak for at least 30 minutes (or overnight). This will help to rinse off the excess starch and help the potatoes crisp up beautifully in the oven.