How old was bruce wayne when he became batman?

Bruce is 48-years-old in 2011. This age also works when we contrast it to other characters around him, such as Dick Grayson and Tim Drake. Bruce is 26 when he starts as Batman. Six years later Dick Grayson arrives on the scene.