How strong is lightning?

An average bolt of lightning, striking from cloud to ground, contains roughly one billion joules of energy.

---

An average bolt of negative lightning carries an electric current of 30,000 amperes. Large bolts of negative lightning can carry up to 120 kA and 350 coulombs.