How is igneous rock made?

Igneous rock is formed through the cooling and solidification of magma or lava. The magma can be derived from partial melts of existing rocks in either a planet's mantle or crust. Solidification into rock occurs either below the surface as intrusive rocks or on the surface as extrusive rocks.