What's an automated tweeter?

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. A Twitter bot is a type of bot software that controls a Twitter account via the Twitter API. The bot software may autonomously perform actions such as tweeting, re-tweeting, liking, following, UN-following, or direct messaging other accounts.