How do you know when cheddar cheese is bad?

Signs that a block of cheddar has gone bad include mold stains on the surface, an off odor that wasn't there when the cheese was fresh, and an excessively sticky, somewhat mushy texture. Once opened, hard cheeses like cheddar and Swiss will stay fresh three to four weeks in your fridge.