When was the monitor invented?

The first computer monitor was invented by Karl Ferdinand Braun in 1897. He created the cathode ray tube as the first computer monitor. It was used to display colorless vector graphics rather than viewing texts before the advancement to color cathode ray tubes that displayed graphics and texts.