What does a fire ant bite feel like?

A fire ant sting often begins an intense pinching or burning pain immediately after the sting. Next comes intense itching or burning over the next few days. The stings commonly turn into blisters. If one is accidentally popped, it should be treated like any other open wound, cleaned and covered.