What's the difference between a model and a supermodel?

A model is anyone hired to promote something, this includes the guy in an ad promoting a hardware store, the child in a candy ad, or even the doctor promoting rash ointment. A supermodel is an extremely successful model, in the fashion industry, who is highly paid and often internationally known.