What substitutes baking powder?

Mix any of the following with baking soda to create a substitute for baking powder: cream of tartar, buttermilk, yogurt, sour milk, lemon juice, vinegar, or molasses. Or, you can use whipped egg whites to add volume. Finally, you can use self-rising flour, as baking powder is already mixed in.