What year did kobe changes number?

After winning 3 NBA championships and playing for 9 seasons with #8 on his back, Kobe finally decided it was time to move on after the 2004-2005 season. According to ESPN, it was Kobe's way to start everything fresh after being involved in several controversies and so he then began wearing # 24.