What was the song we are the world made for?

"We Are the World" is a charity single originally recorded by supergroup USA for Africa in 1985. It was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie to help feed starving people in Africa, specifically Ethiopia, where around one million people died during the country's 1983 to 1985 famine.