How many sanctuary states are there in the united states?

The unofficial term sanctuary state refers to a state that limits its cooperation with federal immigration enforcement agents as much as possible to protect illegal immigrants. As of early 2019, there are seven sanctuary states, according to the Center for Immigration Studies