How do you know if a goldfish is a boy or a girl?

The differences between male and female goldfish will only become obvious once the fish reach maturity, which usually takes about a year. Female goldfish tend to have a rounder, thicker body shape than males. Also, male goldfish develop small white spots on their gill-shields.