Do you have to peel persimmons?

No, you don't. Using a sharp knife, cut off the leaf-like flower and stem. Slice the persimmon into thin wedges or slices, as you would a tomato. The skin is edible and usually thin. If you prefer to peel it, briefly immerse the whole fruit in hot water.