What is the menstrual cycle?

The menstrual cycle is the periodic shedding of the uterine lining. This happens in some, but not all, species of female mammals in their reproductive age range. The lining is shed of the egg is not fertilized and implanted causing pregnancy. In humans, this happens about every 28 days on average.